Marketing & Advertising

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Glew has been paramount to the success of our business. As an ecommerce company, our data is tored in a countless number of siloed repositories.

FAQs

Frequently asked questions about your account, integrations, data and features in Glew.

How do I push customer segments into my email or marketing automation platform?

It's easy to push your Glew customer segments into your email or marketing automation platform and use them as lists for greater targeting and personalization. The process will vary slightly depending on which platform you have integrated (we currently have segment pushes enabled for MailChimp and Klaviyo).

First, make sure you have an email or marketing automation platform integrated in Glew (you can confirm this, or connect a platform, in your Store Settings). To get a segment to automatically push to your email or marketing platform, go into a segment under the email campaign tab and toggle on the "Automatically push this segment” button. Lists are updated nightly, so please allow for 24 hours after you enable a segment push. Remember that customers can be added and removed from multiple lists.

How do I set up my UTMs for accurate attribution tracking in Glew?

In order to get the most value from our channel and attribution reporting, you'll want to make sure that your UTMs follow our channel mapping model. You can reference the full model here.

How does attribution work in Glew?

Glew uses a process called channel mapping to identify the correct source, medium and campaign for purchases in order to attribute them to the correct channel.

Channel mapping works through UTM tagging, using the unique identifiers added to a URL to indicate the referring source, medium and campaign for purchases made through that URL.

Most channel mapping models work by simple exact matching based on medium – for example, if the medium contains exactly “facebook,” “google,” or “email,” it will match it to the correct channel.

Glew's model takes a few extra steps to ensure we’re matching channels accurately and capturing and attributing all the purchases we possibly can:

  • Glew uses a waterfall model to identify and attribute all possible orders. First, we try to exactly match medium or source to our predefined channels. If that’s not possible, we try to find the best match to our predefined channels – like “affiliates” and “affiliate.” Finally, if that’s not possible, we’ll take your medium or source and add it as a channel in Glew, even if it’s not in our predefined list.
  • Glew’s model can account for non-web orders (including marketplaces like Amazon, Facebook and Google, subscriptions from ReCharge, retail point of sale and draft orders) for Shopify by defaulting to the order source from Shopify
  • Glew’s channel mapping doesn’t rely on exact match – we capture close match and common variations (like “video” and “videos”) – and isn’t case sensitive, so we’ll understand that “Facebook” and “facebook” are the same thing
  • Glew breaks out paid advertising into separately rather than bucketing them into one channel, including Facebook, Google, Instagram and AdRoll

Click here to see our full channel mapping model.

How is ad spend attributed to Facebook versus Instagram?

Ad spend in Glew is pulled in directly from Facebook Ads Manager and will default to Facebook, Instagram, Messenger or Audience Network, depending on your campaigns.

My Facebook channel data isn't displaying as "Facebook" under Channels on the Performance tab. What's happening?

If your Facebook channel data isn't properly displaying as "Facebook" under Channels, check how your order sources are tagged. If you're using "fb" as an order source rather than "Facebook," these orders may not be attributed correctly in Glew. Use "Facebook" to ensure they are mapped correctly. The same is true for "ig" versus "Instagram."

A similar problem can occur if you use a tag like "referral" for Facebook orders - Glew will not be able tell whether they should be associated with paid or organic traffic. Use tags like "paid" or "paid social" to ensure they are mapped correctly to the "facebook-paid" channel.

I want to reactivate my Glew subscription. What do I do?

Great news! If you’re a former Glew user and you want to reactivate your subscription, it’s easy to sign up again. Just start a new free trial, re-integrate your store and data sources, and subscribe when you’re ready (before your free trial is up).

How do you display Return on Ad Spend?

Return on Ad Spend, or ROAS, can be calculated as either a revenue amount or as a ratio.

In Glew, we display ROAS as a ratio on the Facebook performance tab (Performance > Advertising > Facebook), since that is the standard for Facebook. We display overall ROAS as a revenue dollar amount elsewhere in the app.

Here's an example: If you spent $1,000 on advertising in one month and generated $5,000 in revenue, your return would be $5,000/$1,000, or a 5:1 ROAS ratio. A return on ad spend of 5:1 indicates that for every dollar you spend in advertising, you gain $5 in revenue.

My Google Analytics and/or Google Ads account isn't connecting. How do I fix it?

If you’re having trouble connecting your Google Analytics account, it may be because you previously had a Glew account that has since been deactivated. If that’s the case, follow the steps below to remove Glew as a third-party app from your Google account, then reconnect Google Analytics in Glew:

  1. Log into to your Google account at https://myaccount.google.com
  2. From the left navigation panel, select Security.
  3. Scroll down to the section “Third-party apps with account access” and select “Manage third-party access”
  4. Select Glew from the list of third-party apps and click “Remove Access.” (Note: if it says Glew has access to both Google Analytics and Google Ads, it will remove access to both integrations. If not, you will need to log into your Google account for Google Ads and repeat the steps above.)

Once you complete those steps to remove Glew as a third-party app, return to your Store Settings in Glew and follow the instructions to connect Google Analytics:

In Glew:

  1. Log into to your Glew account using your email and password
  2. Click on your store from the list of stores shown
  3. From the left navigation panel, click “Store Settings”
  4. Find the section labeled “Integrations” and scroll down to “Additional Integrations”
  5. Click on Google Analytics from the list of integrations
  6. Click “Get Started” and follow the prompts to connect Google Analytics to Glew. (Note: We recommend logging out of all Google accounts before proceeding with this step to ensure that you are connecting the correct account).
  7. Click the Google profile from the list shown and click “Save.”

Repeat the steps above if needed for Google Ads. If you are still experiencing issues, please reach out to us at support@glew.io.

Screenshots:

Select “Security” from the left navigation panel in your Google account.

Scroll to "Third-party apps with account access" and click "Manage third-party access"

Click on Glew from the list of apps and select "Remove Access."

Why does my revenue in Glew not match up with my revenue in Google Analytics?

You may notice a discrepancy between the revenue numbers you see displayed in Glew and the revenue you see in Google Analytics. This is because Glew pulls your order and revenue data from your ecommerce platform, not Google Analytics. Google Analytics also has a specific revenue calculation that may not match up with your revenue preferences in Glew.

Google Analytics revenue:

  • Does not exclude canceled orders
  • Only includes orders that take place online, through your website (meaning that orders placed through third-party apps, like a subscription platform, or in-store through your POS, will not be counted)
  • Does not take your revenue preferences into account

You should see your revenue in Glew align with your ecommerce platform revenue.

I use Mailchimp and Shopify, and I'm missing some email performance data. What's happening?

Glew’s Email Marketing analysis, under the Performance tab, combines data from both your email platform and your ecommerce cart. If you use Mailchimp and Shopify, you may notice some metrics missing after May 2019, including revenue and orders. This is because we pull those metrics from Mailchimp – when Mailchimp and Shopify ended their partnership, those metrics were no longer automatically available.

In order to view revenue and orders for Mailchimp campaigns, you will need to have your revenue and order data imported from Shopify back into Mailchimp You can do this manually, or using a third-party app like ShopSync or Zapier.

From Mailchimp: “Once the integration (Shopify) is phased out, historical data will remain available in Mailchimp for up to 30 days. After that point, purchase data, and some customer information, will no longer be visible in Mailchimp. Your Shopify data will remain available through your Shopify account, and you can choose to import it back into your Mailchimp account.”

More information, including instructions for how connect your Mailchimp and Shopify accounts using a third-party app: https://mailchimp.com/help/shopify-solutions/

What advertising platforms do you integrate with?

Glew currently integrates with Google Ads, Bing Ads, AdRoll and Facebook Ads. Other platforms, including Amazon Ads and Snapchat, are coming soon.

Revenue from AdRoll as a Channel isn't displaying in the Performance tab. What's happening?

There could be a few reasons that revenue from AdRoll as a Channel isn't displaying under Performance:

  • Revenue associated with the channel of 'AdRoll' may not always show in tables that deal with attribution, including Revenue by Channel (Last 13 Months), Net Profit by Channel and LTV Channel Profitability. That's because of Glew's first-order attribution - unless AdRoll is the channel associated with a customer's first purchase, revenue from subsequent purchases will not be attributed to that channel. Because AdRoll is a re-targeting platform, it is rarely associated with a customer's first purchase.
  • If that doesn't seem to be the cause, you can turn off Channel Mapping in Glew to review AdRoll performance. However, keep in mind that ad spend will not line up without Channel Mapping, as that aligns channel names between AdRoll and Google Analytics.
What email platforms do you integrate with?

Glew currently integrates with Mailchimp, Dotmailer, Klaviyo and Bronto. Other platforms, including Listrak and Emma, are coming soon.

Revenue from Email as a Channel isn't displaying in the Performance tab. What's happening?

There could be a few reasons that revenue from Email as a Channel isn’t displaying under Performance:

  • Revenue associated with the channel of ’email’ may not always show in tables that deal with attribution, including Revenue by Channel (Last 13 Months), Net Profit by Channel and LTV Channel Profitability. That’s because of Glew’s first-order attribution model – unless email is the channel associated with a customer’s first purchase, revenue from subsequent purchases will not be attributed to email. To more accurately view an email campaign’s performance, look at it under Performance → Email Marketing, or within your email platform if your platform is not integrated with Glew.
  • This could also be because email campaigns are not tagged, or are tagged incorrectly, in Google Analytics. Learn more about how to effectively tag your links.
  • If neither of those seem to be the cause, you can turn off Channel Mapping in Glew to review performance channels that don’t have spend associated with them. This will help revenue line up for channels like email, and will not use Glew’s first-order attribution model.

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